“Esophagology has become a science, multi-disciplinary in its essence.

OESO and Stanford Medicine propose to the scientific community

an innovative tool,

a major joint training and educational project:

The OESO-SEMPIRE Platform of Excellence in Esophagology

 

 

 

 

 

*

 

THE OESO-SEMPIRE

Virtual Educational Channel

OESO and the OESO-SEMPIRE Platform of Excellence in Esophagology

continue to be a trail blazer

in all fields of Esophagology.

 

A new model of Education has come forward

with the OESO-SEMPIRE Virtual Educational Channel.

 

Indeed, going beyond the traditional series of presentations one after the other,

the clinical case of a patient becomes the focal point of interest: it becomes
the starting point of a two hour intense educational interaction between top experts,

punctuated by comments and questions by a worldwide floor

 

*

23rd meeting:

From the University of Stanford, California, USA

  Hosted by John O. Clarke

 

Wednesday, November 30, 2022

North America, West Coast PST, Stanford 7:00- 9:00 am

 

  • Europe CET: Paris: 4 – 6 pm, UK: 3 – 5 pm
  • North America: West Coast: 7 – 9 am, East Coast: 10 am – 12 noon
  • South America: São Paulo: 12 noon – 2 pm
  • Africa: Bomet, Kenya, 6 – 8 pm
  • Asia: Malaysia, Kuala Lumpur: 11 pm – 1 am (Dec. 1), Beijing: 11 pm – 1 am (Dec. 1)
  • Australia: Melbourne: 2 – 4 am (Dec. 1)

 

Gist of the case:

 

Presentation of the case by the Stanford group

 

A healthy 50s year old man with a diagnosis of achalasia.

Focusing on his initial management options and subsequent steps

when those are only transiently successful.

 

Topics for discussion: this patient is facing management decisions.

  • focus on diagnosis tests,
  • choice of initial therapy,
  • next steps in therapy,
  • practicalities of changing management over time,
  • technical challenges in re-do procedures

 

Panel for discussion:

  • John Clarke, George Triadafilopoulos, Afrin Kamal, Shai Friedland (Stanford)
  • Ellen Stein (Rutgers University, New Brunswick)
  • Roger Tatum (University of Washington)
  • Eun Ji Shin (John Hopkins, Baltimore)
  • Y.Y. Justin Lee (University Sains, Malaysia)


Registration is free, but mandatory:

 

Free registration

 

The next, 24th clinical case discussion will be organized on December 14, from Geneva,
by Professor Mönig.

Two cases will be presented:

  • Robotic Toupet for a giant hiatal hernia,
  • Best approach for herniation after minimal invasive Ivor Lewis esophagectomy

 

Date and details on time will be announced on the OESO website and

in next Newsletters.

 

Back

ANNOUNCEMENT


In the framework of its cooperation with the New York Academy of Sciences, OESO is pleased to announce to the international scientific community the publication (Wiley Publ.) of the 15th and 16th volumes of its Encyclopedia of Esophagology.

 

These two books, which follow the 15th OESO World Congress in Beijing, contain 39 Review Articles in two consecutive special issues of the Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences.

 

These 39 papers, like the congress they follow, cover topics related to the various disciplines represented in OESO, and each of them is the result of the work of teams of international specialists of the highest level in their fields.

 

*

These 2 volumes are available on the 2 links provided here below:

 

  https://nyaspubs.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/toc/17496632/2020/1481/1

 

  https://nyaspubs.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/toc/17496632/2020/1482/1

 

multi-disciplinary, updated information of the highest interest.

 

 

These two issues of Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences (Volumes 1481 and 1482) further the mission of the OESO (World Organization for Specialized Studies on Diseases of the Esophagus): dissemination of knowledge and the sharing of information in the field of the foregut.

 

The work of the OESO is in line with the UNESCO Constitution and directed toward state-of-the art clinical evaluations of patients from worldwide teams of experts in the nineteen disciplines represented in its scientific committees.

 

Since its founding, the OESO has fostered a close relationship with Annals of the New York Academy of Sciences that has resulted in several special issues published over the past decade.

The newly created OESO-Stanford SEMPIRE Platform of Excellence in Esophagology, in cooperation with Stanford Medicine, plans to initiate a multidisciplinary educational program that includes discussions of clinical cases and access to second opinion.

 

Robert Giuli, MD, FACS

Professor of Surgery

OESO Founder and Deputy Executive Director

 

Editor

Contact

OESO Head Office

2, Bd Pershing

75017 Paris, France

Tel. + 33 (0)1 55 37 90 15

email: michele.liegeon@oeso.org

www.oeso.org

Follow us

OESO is now active

on social media!

to get the latest on OESO news, announcements, events, and courses, and to let us know your thoughts!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

©2022 OESO – webdesign: architecturevisualdesign.ch